Nainital has been known for its many schools. Four schools from the British period continue to exist today: Sherwood College,established 1869; All Saints’ College, established 1869; St. Mary’s Convent High School established 1878; and St. Joseph’s College established 1888.

In addition, a number of new schools have been established since independence: Birla Vidya Mandir, established 1947;Sanwal School, established in the 1940s in Mallital; St. Amtuls Public School, established 1983; Parvati Prema Jagati Saraswati Vihar, established 1983; and Oakwood School,established 1989. Chait Ram Sah Thulgharya Inter College (CRST) Nainital Mallital; Government Inter College, Tallital;Government Girls Inter College, Tallital; Bhartiya Saheed Sainik Vidhlay (BSSV) Nainital, Sainik School, established1966, in Gorhkhal, Bhowali, St. Xavier’s School, established 1991, Upper Ayyarpatta Nainital, HGS Bhimtal, Lakes International Bhimtal & many more.

Kumaun University

Kumaun University consists of three campuses at Almora, Nainital and Bhimtal, The university was founded in 1973 when it incorporated the Dan Singh Bisht (DSB) Government College (commonly called “the Degree College”), which had been founded in 1951 by Thakur Dan Singh Bisht in memory of his late father, with the mathematician Dr. A.N. Singh as its first principal,  35 affiliated government colleges; and almost equal number of affiliated self-financed private institutions spread across the Kumaun region.  The total area covered by the university thus far is an impressive 160 acres. The beautifully designed colleges blend in perfectly with the surrounding architecture and complete the breath taking scenery. In order to cater the technical, professional and vocational education, another campus of the University is being developed at Bhimtal. Special emphasis is placed by Kumaun University to uphold the motto of excellent teaching and high quality research. In the residential and affiliated campuses, both teaching and research activities are equally important factors that support the curriculum and contribute to the student’s learning habits.

ARIES (State Observatory)

The 50-year old State Observatory at Nainital was reborn in 2004 as ARIES, the Aryabhatta Research Institute of Observational Sciences, an autonomous institute under the Department of Science and Technology, Government of India. TheObservatory, which had come into existence in Varanasi in 1954, was moved the following year to Nainital, under its more transparent skies.

In 1961 it was moved once again to its present location—Manora Peak (1,951 m (6,401 ft)) —a few km south of the Nainital town.  ARIES’s main objective is to provide national optical observing facilities for research in astronomy, astrophysics, and the atmospheric sciences.


There are a number of libraries in the Nainital area. Among them are the Durga Lal Shah Municipal Public Library, on the Mall, founded in 1934;the Uttarakhand Academy of Administration, Library and Documentation Center, Mallital the ARIES Observatory Library; and the Kumaon University Library, Nainital.

 Visit Nainital Website & Blog @ Nainital – The City Of Lakes